Derek Raghavan, M.D.

Levine Cancer Insitute

Derek Raghavan MD PhD FACP FASCO, President of the Levine Cancer Institute, Charlotte, NC, has served as Director & Frank Rudy Distinguished Chair, Taussig Cancer Institute, Cleveland Clinic, Chair of Medical Oncology & Associate Director (Clinical Research), University of Southern California Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Professor & Chair of Solid Tumor Oncology/Investigational Therapeutics, Roswell Park Cancer Institute. Having trained in Medicine and Oncology in Australia, Dr. Raghavan completed a PhD at the University of London, and undertook post-doctoral research at the University of Minnesota. In Australia, he developed new approaches to the treatment of cancers of bladder and prostate, and studied the variability of cancer in the laboratory. In the USA, he has served as Chair of the National Cancer Institute Cancer Clinical Investigations Review Committee, Chair of the Veterans Administration Merit Review Board in Oncology, and has been a member of the FDA Oncology Drug Advisory Committee and the NCI Clinical Oncology Review Section. Dr. Raghavan has been Chair of the American Society of Clinical Oncology Cancer Communications Committee and ASCO Health Disparities Task Force, a member of the ASCO Value Task Force, was a member of the Scientific Audit Committee of the EORTC for 7 years, has advised Cancer Research UK, Irish Cancer Society, and the Italian Agency for Cancer Research, has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Board and the Board of Governors of SWOG, and has sat on the International Advisory Board of Deutsche Krebshilfe for 5 years. He has published 300 papers and 12 books and has been on editorial boards of Journal of Clinical Oncology, Clinical Cancer Research, European Journal of Cancer, Journal of Urology, Annals of Oncology, and many others, and has served on the external advisory boards of 10 comprehensive cancer centers. He is the Editor-in-Chief (Medical Oncology) of HemOnc Today. He received the Frank Moran Award for Leadership in Cancer Research from the University of Michigan in 2003, was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2009, and a Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in 2010, and received a Statesman Award from ASCO in 2010. He was awarded a research doctorate in medicine (MD) from the University of Sydney in 2012.